Thankful

I’ve been cranky the past few days weeks. A lot of it has to do with the extreme cold and the fact that I usually get this way in January and February. Other parts of it have to do with me not feeling like myself; in between pregnant size Bria and normal size Bria, haven’t been to a salon in…hm, can’t remember, itchy dry skin from the cold, being cooped-up in the house with three kids, two of which have cabin fever. Our house is a disgusting mess which makes me feel on-edge all of the time. The laundry is never ending, the dishes constantly pile-up, it takes me about a year to clean one room and I have to do it in between taking care of kids, James and myself so by the time that’s done the rest of the house is gross and uninhabitable. Does it ever end? Please, someone tell me it does! I can very much relate to the quote, “Cleaning your house while you have small children is much like shovelling during a snowstorm.” I’m also frustrated that I’m 30 and I still don’t have my own vehicle (was supposed to go to my sisters house this afternoon but James had to go into work early, thus leaving me stuck at home) and the vehicle we do have seems to be falling apart every other day.

Anyway, you’re probably wondering why my post is titled ‘Thankful’ when I’m going on about all the things that are getting on my nerves. Well, I find that when I get like this I need to drastically shift my thinking. Here it goes…

Things I’m Thankful for Today:

1) A warm house ~ even if it is a dump right now.

2) A (somewhat) working vehicle ~ even if I can barely lift the car seat up and into the thing and everything seems to be cracked or broken, at least it gets us from Point A to Point B.

3) Food in our cupboard and fridge ~ actually, mainly thankful for coffee right now.

4) Simple things to keep the children entertained ~ playing outside in snow forts and mixing kitchen ingredients to make fun goop and doughs goes a long way for a kid.

5) My comfy couch where I can sit and read magazines or day dream on ~ sunshine, rain boots, puddles, melting snow…

6) That my kids each have their own weekly activity (soccer and irish dancing) where they can run around and blow off some steam.

7) Saucy Latin music to spice things up and dance around the kitchen to.

8) Soothers ~ Eli is cranky today too.

9) Soup ~ tasty and warm.

10) A cozy bed after a warm bath when the day is done.

If you’re, like me, having a hard time seeing the spring at the end of the winter today, what are some things you can be thankful for?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thankful

  1. mansiscorp

    I am thankful for:

    1) The 1 or 2 friends I have whom I know I can trust and who will listen and provide realistic guidance.
    2) That my kids are healthy and reasonably happy.
    3) That it’s almost the end of January, which puts us just a wee bit closer to Spring. I like Spring best.
    4) Living in a place and being in a position where I have CHOICES and OPTIONS. I do have choices and options – and a lot of people do not. I feel for them.
    5) Vegetables. Don’t laugh. If it wasn’t for vegetables, all I would eat would be bread. And that’s not very healthy.

    That’s a pretty good start, I think. Thanks for posting the question. This week, on my to do list with the kids – a Family Thankfulness Jar. Each night, before bed, we will sit down as a family and tell each other about one thing we are thankful for. Then we’ll write that thing down on a strip of colourful paper, which I’ll curl around a pencil, then drop into our jar. I want to teach my children to defeat their ANTs, if they ever have any. There is always something to be thankful for, no matter how big or dark that cloud is. Right?

  2. mansiscorp

    LOL … oops…I’m logged into my work word press. Oops. It’s candice, by the way.

Leave a Reply

