Everything Nice.

The other day I sent my sister a text about how I think I’d like to own a cute boutique dedicated to 1950’s wares and fashions, new and used. Really, the more I think about it, it would just be a vintage/retro inspired store. She texted me back that Winnipeg was saturated with those and now they’re all closed. I was disappointed for a few moments then I put it out of my mind.

I like to daydream and think about what I’d like to spend my days doing when the kids don’t need me as much. I often struggle with what I’d like to do in the future. I know, I shouldn’t worry about it but I’m going to be 30 this year and I just can’t help but want something of my own to do and enjoy and be good at (outside of being a mom).

I love thrifting and the 50’s and dresses and cute housewares…how fun would it be to have a little shop dedicated to those? I’ve mainly worked in retail and I really enjoy it. I love the customer interaction and I find that I’m quite good at it. My favourite job that I’ve had was when I was working at a little gift wares shop in Osborne Village. So much fun. I loved going to work.

I was looking at some Instagram pictures the other day and I couldn’t get over how much I loved the photo’s this one girl was taking. She owned a shop just like what I had imagined. As I looked at more and more of her pictures I got more and more excited. Those colours, those dresses, those sweet retro glasses! Then I started noticing some landmarks…nooooooooo! Her shop is in Winnipeg! Of all places it could be. I wanted to jump up and down for joy and cry at the same time.

Ah well, it’s not like I could open a shop any time soon.  On to the next daydream.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Everything Nice.

  1. candice

    Hmmm…I think that’s a cool idea. But your sister’s is right. Just a regular vintage store might be hard to pull off. BUT I think you need a brainstorming partner…because I can think of a few things off the top of my head that you could do to tie your interest in the bygone 50s with your numerous talents.

  2. ah. now i feel like i crushed your dreams.

Leave a Reply

