Little Cyndi Lauper

I should have snapped a photo, but I didn’t. I’ll have to describe it and paint you a mental picture instead.

Today Amelia was sitting at the kitchen table having her lunch. She was wearing a white and purple striped t-shirt with a grey and pink Hello Kitty zip-up hoodie over top (the sweater has a huge pink sequins bow on it), her very puffy black tu-tu with grey stars on it, skinny jeans, white socks pulled up all the way over the jeans and ruby red sparkly flats. This type of look isn’t unusual for Amelia. She goes to the beat of her own drum when it comes to fashion. For Christmas her Papa got her bright green headphones, not the ear-buds but the overly big cushy type. The headphones go well with my old discman that I found a few weeks ago from the 90’s. Since I have an iPhone and a Nano I don’t have a use for the discman any more so it’s officially become the kids treasure. I filled-up a case of kids music and some of my old CD’s for them to have.

So she’s sitting at the table totally oblivious, and deaf, to the world around her while belting out some Avril Levine (although she didn’t know all of the lyrics so it was mainly just sounds with the odd word thrown in) and looking like a little Cyndi Lauper. James and I were in the kitchen when she turns around and says, loudly due to the noise-cancelling headphones, “THIS IS MY FAVOURITE PART OF THE CHEESE STRING.” I look at James and he looks at me. She’s holding up a noodle of cheese. We try not to laugh.

“The string of cheese is your favourite part of the cheese string?” I ask.

She pulls the headphone away from her ear. “Huh?”

“You’re saying the string…of cheese…is your favourite part of the cheese string? I ask again with slightly more inflection. James and I lock eyes and smirk.

“YUP!”

She plops the cheese in her mouth, turns back around and continues singing along to Avril.

 

I’m curious and excited to meet Ammie as a 15 year-old. It’s going to be quite interesting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

