Life Moves Fast

I suppose now is the time to write a post looking back on the year that was and ahead to the year that will be. 2012 was a crazy one and I really want to have a nice long rant about everything I didn’t like about it, but I won’t. I will say that I’m worn-out from the constant onslaught of big life changes that came our way in the past twelve months. The only other time I’ve been this eager to see a year come to a close was in 2007 when we moved twice, had a job change, had Amelia, struggled publicly in our personal lives and went through a painful uprooting from a beloved community. I was so happy to wave goodbye to 2007 and I’m feeling the same sentiments towards 2012. So much went on this year I’m amazed that I survived it all.

My hope for 2013 is that it will be a calmer more peaceful year for me. I need some consistency in the big things so that I can work on making changes to the little things. It’s not that I feel a new year is an automatic ‘reboot’ to life, but isn’t it a good time to reassess and turn a new leaf? I’m all for setting resolutions for oneself; weekly, monthly, yearly. I’ve been thinking about a few that would be fitting for this next year, but I have yet to settle on any.

Obviously the biggest life change that took place in the past 12 months was Eli. If you had told me last January that we’d be having our 3rd child in 2012 I’d have slapped you then laughed hysterically then possibly curled-up into the fetal position and cried. It was never in our plans to have another one, but now he’s here and we all adore him. If I could go back and make changes to 2012 I would. I’d make a lot of changes. I can think of a whole pile of things that I’d like to have done differently, choices that I made that I wish I hadn’t or things that I didn’t do that I wish I had, but he’s not one of them. Eli was, by far, the best thing about this past year.

1d3dfbae52d311e2962d22000a1f9aa0_7

Look at him…how could we feel any different?

My one take-away from this year can be summed-up in a good ol’ Ferris Bueller quote, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once-in-awhile, you could miss it.” So, goodbye 2012 and hello 2013.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Life Moves Fast

  1. Nana

    I am so glad that I was near you to see all the changes Bria. I love you and you always are are Joy! Happy new year.

Leave a Reply

