Complications.

I can now say for certain that it is extremely awkward to receive bad news in a public place. Not to say that it’s ever a nice thing to get bad news, but there are more ideal locations than the mall or a Starbucks.

I got a call from my midwife this morning as I was sitting outside of a Starbucks at a mall. Double wham-y. I listened carefully as she read-out my ultrasound report, trying to hear her over the chatter of my kids and mom. I began writing things down because I knew I’d forget exactly what she’d said and the terms she had used.

When I got off the phone with her I quickly collected my things and choked back my tears as I went inside to locate the kids and my mom, who had ventured to a nearby store. As I walked over my composure rapidly crumbled and my watery eyes and quivering chin turned into streams of running tears and broken words and sentences. We went over to a bench and I relayed, between sobs, what the midwife had said. There could be complications…

Complications…

Com.pli.cations.

The news every expectant mother hopes to never have to hear. Turns out I heard it today, at a Starbucks, in a mall, with people walking by and watching me come undone with the thought of what this means for our baby, for us. It was awkward but I suppose you get to a point where it doesn’t matter because you’re trying to wrap your mind around what you are hearing.

There is a possibility that our baby could have some heart issues which could be a marker for potential genetic disorders (or it could just be issues with its heart). There were a few things on the ultrasound that didn’t look right so I need to go to genetics to have a fetal assessment done and we will have more answers given to us at that appointment, or they’ll give us the all-clear and say it was nothing or that baby was originally in a bad position or that things evened-out and grew properly. Of course we are praying that it’s nothing and that baby will get a clean bill of health, but it’s hard not to worry when there is a list of things that looked ‘wrong’ and their recommendation is for you to get an amnio and a genetic assessment done.

If you are the praying type I would ask that you join with James and I this next week as we anxiously wait to hear about our appointment and our little one’s health.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Complications.

  1. Dana

    oh bria…i’m sorry to hear that. we’ll for sure be praying for you both and for the little one.

  2. Isabelle

    Praying for you Bria..

  3. Tenille

    I’m praying for you too!

  4. Yes Bria. I will definitely pray for you all and that growing little baby. It’s so stressful and hard to find peace in the midst of uncertainty like this… (hug)

  5. Janice Wakeham

    Hi Bria your Mom and I were just e-mailing each other after I sent her a few pics of Alyson’s little guy Ethan. She told me you are pregnant so congratulations!!!! And she told me to come to your blog to read about the possible complocations. You have two beautiful children as I looked at your pics on Facebook. I am so sorry about your news. I will pray for your precious baby and for you and James. I know our Lord has your baby in His heart and its life is in His hands and we can trust Him to keep us steady in the midst of a storm. So I pray you will have peace as you await your appointment and the results. Love you! Janice Wakeham

  6. Tracy Illchuk

    Bria, I am so sorry to hear about your complications! As you know, I have faced a very similar situation, and I know how terrifying it is. Please email me if you want, or even phone me…it is very helpful to talk to someone who has been there before! I will be praying for you guys!

  7. Zoë

    I just read this now, Bri – I’m so sorry to hear about that, and I’ll be praying for you and your family!

Leave a Reply

