Excited.

I knew from the moment I found-out I was expecting that I wanted different care for this pregnancy/labor/delivery. You can read a little bit about my past birth experiences here and can catch a glimpse of how I came to the decision to seek out the care of a midwife instead of an OB/GYN. The issue with getting a midwife in Manitoba is that they are in really high demand and most women get turned away. I called one of the clinic’s the week I found-out I was pregnant and filled-out an intake form that was faxed around to the four clinic’s midwives’ work out of. I was told to continue on with my doctor until I heard otherwise, but I should know that most women don’t get on and so I shouldn’t expect to. They said that I’d hear back in six weeks.

I prayed and prayed and prayed. I really wanted to get a midwife.

Well, 3 days after I first talked to the clinic I received a call saying that a midwife at the new birthing center had accepted me! Soooo excited. I’ve met with her once already and had a tour of the new facility, it’s like a SPA! If all goes well I’ll be able to have a natural birth in one of their gorgeous rooms. I couldn’t be happier.

On top of that, I had to turn down two other midwives that had accepted me into their care! It was meant to be.

Call me crazy, but I’m now looking forward to my labor and delivery.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Excited.

  1. Congrats! I had my two wee ones with a midwife at the Midwife Center here in Pittsburgh and both births were amazing experiences. No doubt yours will be as well!

  2. Congrats! Didn’t know you were expecting! Wonderful news! Hope you enjoy the midwife care model…!!

Leave a Reply

