Here We Are.

We are now living in 660 sq ft.

I have moments where I totally freak out and wonder what we’ve gotten ourselves into. Why would we move? Why would we give-up our yard, our space, our big bedroom for something so small? Why would we knowingly enter into so much change? It’s a totally different way of living. I’m now tied-down to a place, to a job. We can’t just up-and-leave at the drop of a hat. I need to be reachable at all times.

Then I have moments where I think that this is just brilliant; a forced down-size. Something totally different is often what we need. A new beginning. A chance to see life from a different perspective, a different angle.

Paring down has been good. We still have so much stuff left in our house and I only find myself with a small(ish) list of things to bring over still. I’m sure we will end-up filling our storage containers with all of the camping/hunting/sewing gear, but other than that I can’t think of what we still need. Man, we have so much junk.

I’m trying to find a spot for everything before it all gets unpacked. I think that living here will help me grow leaps and bounds in the way of organization and household responsibilities. I have to stay on-top of dishes and cleaning or else the place will drive us nuts. I have to plan meals better because we only have an apartment size fridge, stove and freezer. Planning and care will have to go into so many things. I will need to manage myself and my time well, something that I’ve always wanted to be good at.

So here we are. The space, now that we’re moved-in, feels very comfortable and seems to be a good space for us. All of our stuff that we wanted to fit in here does. We have a nice living room and a little office area for me (using my sorting table as the desk). The artwork still needs to be put-up, but there’s no rush on that.

I think that this is going to be a great learning time for us as individuals, as a couple and as a family.

 “Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” – William Morris

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Here We Are.

  1. I hope it’s a good time for you guys. Marc and I have both agreed that we’ve never loved or hated each other so much, like we have living in this little trailer. But I really think that’s a good thing. And, yes, the organizational skills I’ve honed. Impressive indeed!

  2. “Then I have moments where I think that this is just brilliant; a forced down-size. Something totally different is often what we need. A new beginning. A chance to see life from a different perspective, a different angle.”

    Yeah, I would definitely agree with that. I think the key is our willingness to really live into our choices, to embrace them fully with all the consequences that arise, which can be a very difficult thing to do. I hope you learn a lot from this new context. Seems like a good opportunity:)

  3. gayle franzmann

    Your new place is warm and friendly- right from the word go! Bria you are so amazing at decorating that the new apartment is going to be fantastic.

  4. Meghan Bargen

    Hey Bria
    I just wanted to encourage you – I think what you guys are up to is so great. It is very inspiring and in some ways I feel a little bit jealous of your challenge to pair down and live simply. I don’t like to have a lot of extra stuff in my life and this is motivating me to really look at what I have.

    Have you heard of Dave Ramsey? He’s a christian financial guy and one thing he always says is that we need to “live like no one else – so later, we can live like no one else”. Going against the grain now, can set you up for big success in the future – both financially and in terms of your family life.

    Plus – when you’re doing something that others think might be a little nutty – it’s a good sign that you’re probably on the right track. 🙂

    All the best Bria – I love reading your blog – and thanks for the inspiration. PS – your place already looks awesome – I’d love to see more pics of what you’ve down with it – and some of your organizing strategies!

    • Thanks so much Meghan! I had heard of Dave Ramsey and I do love that quote. It helps to remind me that even though this might be a hard adjustment, and even a hard couple of years, it’s gonna be worth it in the end.

      Once I get everything sorted I’m hoping to do a few posts on how the place looks and works! I’ll be sure to pass along some of the things that are working (or not working) in terms of oranization.

  5. jule

    can’t wait to see the place next month. 😀 change is hard but almost nothing makes you grow more. you and i both know that from a lot of personal experience. xoxo

Leave a Reply

