Siloam.

A friend had posted this video to her FB page and I just had to share it. It’s a place I’ve been to a number of times to volunteer with a few different things. Our church sends a group of people once a month to work in the basement sorting clothing that will end-up upstairs in the Clothing Closet. I always enjoy my time at Siloam. I’m looking forward to when both kids are in school full-time so James and I can work in the kitchen serving meals. Have a look. If you live in this area and have never volunteered at Siloam (or a place like Siloam) I would strongly suggest you give it some thought.

Siloam Mission from Handcraft on Vimeo.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Siloam.

  1. When I lived in Memphis, I volunteered at a place very similar to this called the Union Mission. I loved being there – whether it was cooking, serving, or putting together clothing requests from the needy. It just feels so good to have someone to help.

    Thanks so much for your comment on my guest post over at Heather Boersma’s blog. I appreciated that a lot! :o)

  2. Beautiful.

    Breaking stereotypes…a number of years ago, Grant lost his cell phone downtown, not far from Siloam. Someone phoned our home to say that he had found this phone and did we know who owned it. He told me that he was having breakfast and coffee at Siloam Mission, so Grant could meet him there to pick it up. Grant offered to reward him for calling us, but he declined. In contrast, when I lost my purse, wallet and cell phone out here in the “‘burbs,” no one called. No one turned it in. “Goodness” and “honesty” come in places where we wouldn’t expect. Especially if you believe the stereotypes.

Leave a Reply

