On turning 28 and chopping my hair.

 Tomorrow I turn 28.

 It’s hard for me to wrap my mind around the fact that I’m almost 30. I always thought that when I got closer to 30 I would have my life all ‘sorted-out’ and I would feel…old. I don’t feel old at all. Far from it actually. I feel younger now then I did in my early 20’s! Maybe because I get a full nights sleep now. Maybe because I’m looking at the world wide-eyed and excited again. Maybe because James and I are on a ‘honeymoon high’ in our marriage (7 years!). Probably all of the above.

 Even though it means that I’m one year closer to 30 (which really isn’t all that nerve-wracking, I just like to joke about it) I’m really looking forward to this next year and chapter of my life. I’ve been making huge strides in a lot of areas these past few months and now that I’ve got the momentum going, I can’t wait to see what’s next. I’m feeling more confident with myself and where I’m at. I’m starting to give myself room to acknowledge my strengths and build upon them and, just as importantly, acknowledge my weaknesses and accept that I don’t have to be everybody and do everything.

 I have a hunch that 28 is going to be a great year for me. I figured that I would head into a new stage with a whole new look so I chopped my hair! For some time I’ve been wanting to get a super short hair-do and I’ve just never had the guts to do it. Well, out with the old and in with the new. I finally decided that if I didn’t do it I would always wonder if I would have liked the short look so I may as well find out. There’s nothing like being bothered by a nagging question for years and years. I made my stylist turn the chair around so I couldn’t see (that’s just how nervous I was) but, as it turns out, I LOVE it! It’s so much fun and confident. A perfect hairstyle to reflect how I’m feeling.

I will be celebrating my birthday by taking my children to the dentist! Clearly I didn’t really think that one through too well 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “On turning 28 and chopping my hair.

  1. Have a wonderful birthday! Your hair, by the way, is fabulous!

  2. I had no idea that your birthday was so close to mine!!! I’m 28 on Sunday! I hope you have a fantastic day. 😀
    And your new haircut looks wonderful. Let me know if you ever get bored with it and need to add a little pink or blue. 😉

Leave a Reply

