I Hate Uggs.

I know this goes against the norm, but I hate Uggs. I do. I always have. They’re not fashionable. They’re not fashion forward. They’re not stylish. I can’t stand the yoga-pant wearing, Ugg clomping, I’m-too-busy-to-put-on-a-real-outfit trend. I was at the library with Amelia the other day and EVERY SINGLE MOTHER was wearing yoga pants and some version of the Ugg boot. I felt like shaking some sense into every single one of them. Mother’s of the world…”DON’T GIVE UP!” Although it’s not just mother’s. Vancouver was just voted the worst dressed place (by the Fashion Police apparently) because of this exact reason! Ugg boots have somehow become trendy and now they’ve taken over the world. I personally think that they’ve become appealing to the masses because they make your feet look so large and cartoon-ish that they actually have a sort-of slimming effect.

Yoga pants are for yoga. I have a pair or two kicking around and I wear them frequently. I call them my stretchy-pants (said with Nacho Libre flare) and I wear them for…………you guessed it, YOGA! Or possibly when I sit down to watch Drop Dead Diva with a gigantic bowl of ice cream, but that’s besides the point. The point is that I wear them in the confines of my home or when I’m clearly engaged in some form of excercise.

I also own a pair of Ugg-ish boots. They were hand-me-downs from my little sister (yes, she’s 14 years younger than me and her feet are bigger than mine). I was going to, politely, decline when they were first offered to me but then I reconsidered. Let’s face it, Ugg boots have one thing, and only one thing, going for them; their warmth. I took the ugly pre-broken-in boots because I thought they would be good to wear around the house. When I brought them home James lost it. He hates them more than I do and apparently I’d crossed over to the dark side. We actually had a full-blown argument about me wearing them out of the house (ONCE) for Festival Du Voyageur. I don’t own Sorrel’s. I should, but I don’t. Now if it’s -30 I’ll often wear the Uggs in the truck and bring along another, more fashionable pair of shoes or boots.

However, these horribly hideous things have unfortunately made it into my ‘acceptable-to-wear-while-walking-your-child-to-the-bus-stop’ wardrobe. I don’t know how this happened, but it did. The other day I grabbed the boots and slipped them on as Rhys and I were running walking to the bus. Every time I took a step something would catch my eye. Upon closer inspection I realized that there was a huge gaping hole on the toe of my boot that the stuffing was pouring out of. Well, I sure spent a heck of a lot of time fixing it up for not even liking the stupid boots.  As soon as I saw the hole I had a vision of a cute appliquéd flower covering it up. So that’s what I did.

 

And now my uggly boots are just that much cuter and have a little bit of personality stitched in. Still pretty uggly though…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “I Hate Uggs.

  1. I’m not alone! I think they’re about the ugliest things, too. And they’re not practical as they’re rather slippery….I only wore mine around the house, just like slippers.

  2. Oh, also, I love how you fixed the hole! I’d wear mine more if they looked like that, actually! 🙂

  3. I guess I won’t ever wear mine around you…. 😉

  4. Courtney

    Yea, not a big fan of them either. That and the sandals with the holes in them, (don’t know what exactly they’re called.) Hate those too.

  5. ee

    I love ’em! I think they’re adorable, too bad you dislike ’em so much. I’ll take yours if you don’t want them!

  6. Gus Klein

    They are infantile. Suitable for a 6 year old, but not any older. Women who wear them appear to be immature to men. Just trivial little girls.

Leave a Reply

