What I learned about myself…

{…from attending my high school reunion.}

I’m glad that I went to my 10 year reunion. It was interesting and, at times, awkward to see people (a whole room full) that you hadn’t seen for a decade. Some people looked exactly the same. It was like it was the day after graduation. Others, well, let’s just say that I had to do a few double-takes. Some people were still telling the same jokes and talking about the same things. Most of them were amazed that my kids were so huge, which is understandable considering there were, what seemed like, a million toddlers and babies. A few individuals that I had hoped to chat with didn’t show-up but I had a number of good reconnecting conversations with some lovely classmates.

What I learnt about myself was this:

  1. When I looked around the room and saw where other people were at in life I surprised myself with being happy with where I’m at.
  2. I often take for granted the fact that I’m a young mom and was told, by a few people, that it would be nice to already have older kids. I’m out of the baby years and toddler stage and I dealt with them when I had they energy to do so. I loved those years and miss my babies, but our family is growing-up and moving-on and I’m happy for that.
  3. I’m proud of the fact that James and I have been together for so long and gone through so much and are falling more and more in love with each other each day.
  4. I can now officially say that I’m happy marriage and children came before a degree/schooling and a career!
  5. I put too much stock in what other people think! And I need to grab ahold of my new motto of “Screw everyone else and do what you want”. I know that sounds juvenile and harsh but think of it in the context of me living my life to please others and trying to live up to their idea of success. It’s something that I have a hard time with. It’s just a silly way of telling myself that I need to stop looking to others to find my worth.
  6. I opened-up my 10 year letter and had a good laugh and then almost a good cry. Oddly enough, I’m right where I wanted to be! In my letter I said that I wanted to be following God, married to James, seeing the world (Haiti, Australia and New Zealand…not too bad),  and a mom (I actually said that I wanted a girl named Amelia!).

So those are the things, off the top of my head, that I realized about myself while walking away from my 10 Year Reunion. I’m glad I went. I’m glad it’s behind me. I’m glad that I got to talk with some genuinely caring people and meet their kids/babies.

At the bottom of my letter I wrote something that left a huge impression on me.

It said, “Whatever has happened in your life Bria, you are Wonderful!”

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What I learned about myself…

  1. #5 has definitely been something I’ve been learning over the past 2 years. Good for you for going to your reunion. If my 10 year reunion was tomorrow I wouldn’t go, but maybe a conversation with you would persuade me 🙂

Leave a Reply

