Sorting Table.

The other day, while I was on one of my many trips down the long hallway of Rhys’ school I spotted some tables pushed-up against a wall. There were little signs on each of them that read, “If you want it – Take it!” The tables sat fairly low to the ground with solid wood legs and signs of years of use all over them…farmhouse-ish even. Unfortunately the signs were both crossed-out with some lucky persons name written underneath the heartbreaking ‘yougotheretoolate’ X. I thought about those tables for a good half-an-hour after I left the school. Oh, the possibilities!

The next day when I walked back into the school – lo and behold – another table! A better table! This one was a bit taller, a bit darker and a bit more beat-up with big square legs and dovetailed corners. What a beauty. I waisted no time in getting my name on it. I found out that it is an old Canada Post sorting table. Furniture with a story behind, my favorite.

The kids have a play table already. When I was pregnant with Amelia, James and I went down to Ikea and bought the kids a little table and chairs set. It has served them well but I’ve recently realize that the kids have out-grown the table. It’s meant for regular sized 2 & 3 year-olds…not overgrown 4 & 6 year olds. The kids don’t even like playing at the table anymore since it’s too small for them to spread-out their colouring or Lego.

A little while after the sorting table found its new home in my front window Rhys brought his army toys up and took over. The good guys (because Rhys is always the enemy) actually had room to spread-out and develop strategies!

I really liked the table when I first saw it but I fell in love with the table once I saw my kids playing at it.

(isn’t it the best?)

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sorting Table.

  1. That table is GORGEOUS!!! I’m so glad you got it, after the disappointment of the first table!

Leave a Reply

