She finally speaks.

Lying on the basement floor, my one shoe tapping to the beat of the song.

I’m tired. Emotionally. Physically.

I went for a jog. I had to. There was too much on my mind, too much on my heart to sit still.

I ran and ran and ran. I beat the distance I had set for myself. I left the pity party behind.

I’m closing my eyes and slowing my breathing while the words ‘awake my soul’ are repeated over and over.

The whole family is asleep so I sing it loud, hoping that maybe my soul will actually hear.

Wake-up. Wake-up.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “She finally speaks.

  1. I know what you mean. I’m in a place right now where I feel like I need to get out of my head for a while and I don’t know what to do about it. My spirit wants to hide away and sleep and I know if it did, it would be the next step in it becoming lazy. I hope you find new vigour.

Leave a Reply

