Sleep-In Day.

Today was my day to sleep-in. Ha.

I don’t have a sleep-in day anymore. Rhys has school Monday to Friday and I’m an early morning person who HATES being late, so our day starts early. My alarm goes off at 5:50 so I can hit the snooze button until 6:30 and feel as though I’ve slept-in. On Saturdays we have soccer at 9 in the morning which means that we leave the house at 8:30 (so mama can get a coffee and still be there early) which means that I’m up at 7. Sundays we have church at 10 which means that we’re out of the house by 9:15 (so mama can get a coffee and still be there early) which means that I’m still up at 7.

I’ve never been one to sleep-in. Even if I stay-up until the wee-hours of the morning I’ll still be out of bed by 8:30 or 9. I think that I slept-in until the afternoon once in my life…the day I’d gotten back from Australia.

It’s just always been that way. I remember, when I was little, waking-up with my dad first thing in the morning and having a bowl of Millet/Red River Cereal/Oatmeal and sitting at the kitchen table while he tried to teach me about complex math problems or trading futures. He was an early bird. I am an early bird. I feel like I’ve wasted my day if I sleep-in until 9am.

But….

Today Rhys has a day off of school and I was looking forward to sleeping-in. 8, maybe 8:30 was all I wanted. James was up at 5:30 getting ready for his day, flicking the light on and off every time he came in the room, tromping around the house getting his gear together. I’m a light sleeper.

I managed to drift back to sleep only to wake-up to little voices, clanking toys, and a girl pretending to be a cat at 6:15.

Ugh. This is motherhood.

I got them up. They were excited to see me. I plopped them on the couch and put on Dora (it’s a treat for them to watch a show in the morning). I made some coffee and crawled back into bed to spend some time doing my devotions. I would have liked to sleep-in for once, it would have been nice. But, if I’m honest with you, waking-up before 7am was totally expected. I’m just glad that I love being an early bird.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

