so THAT’S where ammie gets it from…

I am always amazed over how many times Amelia is able to hurt herself in any given day. It’s past the point of ridiculous. She’s been known to walk in a straight line on a clean floor and slip and fall. Clutz isn’t a strong enough word. I’ve always chalked this up to the fact that she’s growing too fast for her body/co-ordination to keep-up with. My ‘little’ three-and-a-half year-old girl is the same size as my five-and-a-half year-old. She gets looks and comments from friends and strangers like you wouldn’t believe. I’ve had parents at Rhys school think that she’s in Grade One. I suppose when you find yourself in the 110th percentile for height then all of this comes with the territory. She’s tall. She’s lanky. A Hippo has more grace than this little girl. I’m well aware of all of this.

What I wasn’t aware of was that I contributed to her ungracefulness. I went Cross-country Skiing yesterday for the first time since I was, roughly, eight. This used to be a family activity when I was growing-up. I figured since I grew-up skiing (both downhill and cross-country) that I would be fine. Nope. I fell 5 times on the track and once afterwards (when I was wearing my boots). I’m all aches and pains today.

Embarrassing as it was to be so clumsy while everyone else managed to stay upright, we did laugh a lot (…at my expense).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “so THAT’S where ammie gets it from…

  1. Courtney

    Don’t worry Bria. I did the samething when I went snow shoeing way back in like grade sevenish. I’m pretty sure it’s jsut her getting adjusted to her body.

Leave a Reply

