Trash Track.

A follow-up from this post.

I still have garbage, bags of garbage, getting picked-up once a week from my back lane. I haven’t completely overhauled my way of living/shopping since writing my last post on being waste free. I have good intentions and aspire to be less cluttered but it seems like a change that takes place over time. You need to find a groove for what works for your household.

One thing that I did do was eliminate bags and bags and boxes upon boxes of junk lying around our home. I spent time going through the children’s toys, my clothes, the ‘dumping’ room and came up with about 15 bags to go to the thrift store. James and I decided to widdle the children’s toys down to one bin for Rhys, one bin for Amelia and one bin for mutual toys (although this doesn’t include Lego, books and crafts). I couldn’t believe how much stuff we’d been holding on to. Since getting rid of 2/3 of their toys the kids haven’t complained once. In fact, they still probably have too many toys. It felt good to do some purging.

My next project is tackling our storage room. It’s a big job and I’ll probably do it when it’s warm enough to haul a bunch of it outside. I’m also hoping to rethink the way we buy groceries (possibly using the jar system from the article I posted about on Waste Free – link is at the top of the page).

I heard about this Trash Track project and felt like it really drives the point home. Watch it (…and careful that your jaw doesn’t smack the table too hard). This was good for me to see and I hope it has some affect on what type of consumer you are.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Trash Track.

  1. Courtney

    Good for you for tackling that, Bria! That’s a great accomplishment!! You should do a bit at a time, so you don’t get overwhelmed. Just a suggestion, though.

  2. Good for you! You’re making me want to clean out my closet.

Leave a Reply

