The Magic Cookie.

 

This cookie is truly magical. Why is this seemingly straightforward and simple cookie magical? Well, other than having the perfect slightly crispy outer layer complimented by the soft chewy inside, it performs the most amazing disappearing act you’ve ever seen. No joke. I see a blur go through the kitchen and *WHAM-BAM-POOF* they’re gone! Incredible.

I spent years hunting down the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe and after exclusively using this recipe for quite some time it’s safe to say that I’ve found it. I’ve had numerous people comment on how perfectly delicious these cookies are…some even go as far as saying they’re the best (thanks Rhys and Ammie). I was on the fence for some time trying to decide if I should share the recipe on my blog and then I realized that something this good should not be held with a death grip. I love sharing my baked goods with people so why not take it a step further and share my favorite recipe, right? Here you go:

The ‘Magical’ Chocolate Chip Cookie

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup butter/margarine softened

(now, if you are planning on making these cookies ahead of time then by all means take your butter out and bring it to room temperature. I really do notice a difference with how the cookies perform when you have room temperature butter but it won’t ruin your cookies if you just soften it in the microwave)

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

3 cups flour

1/2 cup chocolate chips

  1. Cream white sugar, brown sugar and butter together in a large bowl. Add in eggs and vanilla (if I know that it will only be my nut-tolerant family consuming these cookies I will put a few drops of almond extract into the dough at this time…try it, I dare you! But don’t if there are nut allergies.) Mix until you have a nice smooth batter.
  2. In a separate bowl combine your baking soda, cinnamon, salt and flour.
  3. Add half of the dry mixture into the wet mixture. Mix well. Add the rest of the dry mixing well.
  4. Add chocolate chips, stirring to mix. (Chill for 20 minutes if dough is really really soft.)
  5. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto cookie sheets about 2 inches apart.
  6. Bake at 375. 11 minutes for the first tray and 10 minutes for all subsequent trays. Bake until there is the SLIGHTEST browning of the edges and remove to finish baking on the cookie sheet on top of the stove. This will ensure you have a nice chewy cookie. Take them out even if the middle looks like it could use another minute.
  7. Let cool and enjoy with a big glass of milk!

I’d love to hear your thoughts if you decide to give this recipe a try! Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Magic Cookie.

  1. ruth

    THANK YOU. were these THE cookies you sent to my door a few months back? because they truly were…magical. i shall make them. xo

  2. I finally made this recipe yesterday and OH MY GOODNESS they are so good! I love the Joy of Cooking oatmeal cookies and I always make those, but I’ve been trying to find a receipe for a non-oatmeal version and have never been happy (no matter how many stars a recipe gets on the internet). But these were great. I was a little nervous about the cinnamon, but I think that’s what makes the cookie. So I thank you, but my thighs do not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

