The Perfect Sugar Cookie.

Obviously there will be people who disagree with me over this being the perfect sugar cookie. I fully realize that some people may like a firmer more crisp cookie, or even a more shortbread-ish cookie. That’s fine and all, this is just what I would consider the perfect sugar cookie.

Truth be told, there are some things that I bake where I’m just not all that thrilled with the outcome…sugar cookies have been one of these things (and brownies). Usually this happens because I’ve had one of these morsels somewhere where it’s been baked to perfection and I can’t seem to replicate it. This bothers me to no end. A few years back I had the most scrumptiously delectable sugar cookie known to mankind. It was soft and fluffy…almost cakey actually. It had some height to it and was iced beautifully. From that moment on no sugar cookie could live up to that. I tried and tried and tried different recipes and nothing came close, until now. James comes from the school-of-thought that sugar cookies should be on the firmer side, which is too bad for him I suppose since I’m 100% sold on this new recipe. I’m beyond thrilled that I found this simple recipe right before I go into mass production (with Halloween, Christmas and Valentines Day just around the corner). So, with all of that build-up, here they are and here’s how to make them!

{It was actually Rhys’ idea to make some cookies that he could use cutters with. He decided to make pumpkin shapes and have orange icing on them. I added pumpkin spice into the icing…perfect for ushering in Thanksgiving!)

Traditional Sugar Cookies

3 cups of plain flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup of butter

1 cup of white sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

  1. Sift (very important step, don’t forget it) the flour, baking soda, baking powder and nutmeg together in a bowl and set aside.
  2. Beat (with a mixer if you have one) butter, sugar and vanilla until creamy. Add in the egg and mix well.
  3. Alternate adding your flour mix and the milk into the butter mixture until you have a soft dough.
  4. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for no less than 30 minutes (this is an important step as well, especially if you’re using odd shaped cookie cutters like cows and elephants).
  5. Turn on your oven to 350. Roll out your dough on a lightly floured surface and stamp with cutters.
  6. Bake for 8 minutes. Take out your cookies when you can see just a bit of brown and place them on top of your oven. Remember, they keep baking after they’ve come out so if you leave them for even a bit longer you’ll end up with a crispy cookie.
  7. Let cool before icing.

The perfect icing for the perfect cookie:

1 cup of icing sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla (or more depending on what you want)

1 tbsp warm water

1/4 – 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (optional)

A few drops of food colouring of your choice (2 drops of red and yellow each to get the perfect pumpkin orange).

I hope you guys love these cookies as much as I do. We also cut out elephants and covered them with pink icing for Amelia…she was thrilled! Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Perfect Sugar Cookie.

  1. Printed it off. Will make them as soon as I have a spare minute. Can’t wait!

  2. Mom

    I can see a new brinkerhoff cookie coming. Which by the way is going to be on December 4 or 5th. I will let you know the exact date asap!

  3. Courtney

    Those look so GOOD!

Leave a Reply

