Calming My Nerves.

I had a bit of a nerve wracking afternoon. It was good, but I was anxious.

I had a hard time settling myself when everything was all said and done, my mind was racing a million miles a minute.

I sat myself down on the couch (after putting a show on for the kids so that I could have a bit of quiet) and brought my worries before the Lord. I knew that it wasn’t within my own power to calm myself so I opened up my bible to find some much needed encouragement.

I did the whole ‘let the spirit lead’ thing and just let my bible open to wherever it would (which, for the record, rarely works). My book opened to Psalm 38 and, believe it or not, I found exactly what I needed.

“All my longings lie open before you, O Lord; my sighing is not hidden from you. My heart pounds, my strength fails me…

O Lord, do not forsake me; be not far from me, O my God. Come quickly to help me, O Lord my Savior.”

(Psalm 38: 10, 21 & 22)

I found such a peace in these words. To be honest, my mind is still going a million miles a minute but I know that my longings and sighs are heard. I know that my heavenly Father cares and that he is not far from me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Calming My Nerves.

Leave a Reply

