Overhauled.

There have been a few times through-out our marriage where I have felt a strong sense that James has been fervently praying  for some change…and I think that this is one of those times. I have a feeling that James has been pleading with our good Lord, petitioning, if you will, for me to become more of the ‘outdoorsy’ type.

Now, before you all go thinking that I’ve been a glamorous vacationing princess my whole life I’d like you to know that I’ve enjoyed my fair share of backwoods adventures. I’m not against vacationing at all (and yes, we did that quite a bit growing up) but some of my favorite memories from my childhood are of playing in the trees in the woods by different houses we’ve had, running through rows of corn in farmers fields, exploring the streams and forests of different places we’d go. I always loved a good pair or rubbers boots to accompany a sloppy spring and couldn’t wait for the smell of summer nights lit-up with crackling bonfires.  So there you go, I’m not as prissy as you think I am…even if I did grow-up on the ‘other side of the tracks’, as James likes to say.

Even though I’ve loved the great-outdoors for as long as I can remember I haven’t spent much time actually enjoying it (not for lack of want I might add). So it’s come as a surprise to me that lately I’ve had a one-track-mind. Camping and hiking. It’s all I can think about. This could be due to the fact that in Manitoba we spend a significant amount of time holed-up in our homes while the wind blows a chilly -30 and it’s easy to sit and daydream about the day where one doesn’t require a good 45 minutes of bundling just to take the trash out back, but I like to think that it’s a bit more than that, a bit deeper. James has always been the outdoors type and I have an inkling that he’s wanted me to get on board so that he wouldn’t have to feel guilty about wanting to spend the majority of our free time enjoying Manitoba’s natural beauty.With that said, he still hasn’t sold me on moving to the Yukon…

Regardless of why this change has come about, it’s much welcomed. I’ve always wanted to be an outdoor adventurer but until now I’ve not felt any motivation to become that sort of person. I’m giddy just thinking about all of the family camping we’ve planned and the couple of hikes that James and I are going on. We are hoping to hit-up 10 Provincial Parks from May to September, possibly more. We’ve started researching and buying good quality gear from supply stores, studying our Mantario Trail map, breaking in the hiking boots, planning meals (and some that have to be based on size and weight, which is a new thing for me!), testing-out tents and equipment…oh boy, I’m so excited just thinking about it!

We live in such an incredibly beautiful province that it would be crazy to not get out of the city and take it all in. But over and above that I want my kids to grow-up knowing nature and to have a good understanding of this world that we live in.

(I mean, who wouldn’t want to wake-up to this?!)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Overhauled.

  1. Totally loving this! I would only dream of being able to do this! Good for you! I hope you enjoy every single minute!

  2. Courtney

    That’s awesome that you’re going camping with the kids. I have no memories of camping. Probably because we had the cottage. I think the camping moments will be the things the kids remember the most growing up.

  3. I love camping too. Mantario is my middle name.

Leave a Reply

