Early Morning Reflections

4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:4-7

I feel like so often I get caught-up in worrying about life and wondering what’s going to happen next that I forget to just sit and pray. It’s such a simple thing, so easily done and every single time I finally think to pray I wonder why-the-heck I didn’t do that in the first place.  This morning, as I was blow-drying my hair, I started getting anxious about a certain situation (again) and it’s like a light bulb went off, I just needed to pray about it. So I did. I feel so calm about it now, I know that the pieces will fall into place and that the Lord will be my guide. The Lord is near but so often I just try to push Him away and sort things out on my own…and that never ends well. My encouragement for you and I today is to cast all of our cares upon Him and rest in the peace that will follow.

*On a different note: I get to take Rhys to his Kindergarten classroom today for a ‘Countdown to Kindergarten’ activity. He’s so excited about meeting his teacher and seeing the room and possibly future friends, he can hardly contain himself. Amelia is excited as well, she keeps telling me that she’s 5 so she can go to school too. I think we may have a bit of trouble when she figures-out she’s not in Kindergarten yet. Any time I get to go to the school with Rhys is good, it’ll make the transition for both of us a bit easier.

*On yet another different note: I highly suggest you head over here and read a column by Doug Speirs about how it sucks to live in the same world as Justin Bieber. I wholeheartedly agree. Although the SNL skit he did with Tina Fey was funny…in a gross, “Ew, that’s Justin Bieber” kinda way.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Early Morning Reflections

  1. jule

    That is such a funny article. Wow. Besides the fact that there was one spelling mistake…
    I have to admit, the more I hear that song “Baby” the more I don’t hate it. There is something terribly…terribly wrong with me…

Leave a Reply

