At least it’s sunny outside.

It’s weird to think that I was in Haiti last week. For some reason it already seems like it was so long ago, I guess the polar-opposite cultures could have something to do with this. How can a short plane ride take you from one extreme of over-abundance to the other of widespread poverty? I have to admit that it’s been hard to be home. I’m still having trouble putting my trip into words. My hands feel tied and I’m wondering (along with James) what our next steps are in helping-out a country we are so far away from.

I’m feeling quite exhausted today. Très fatigué. Five of us that were on the trip got sick and I’m thinkin’ that plus the trip itself plus the emotional/mental aspect plus a whole night of Ammie crying plus getting her cold has me a bit worn out. It’s been difficult to get back into the swing of things; housework, childcare, cleaning…my mind seems to be elsewhere. It kind-of feels like I’m physically in Manitoba but my mind is still back in Haiti.

I’m excited to share my trip with you over the coming weeks as I find the words to properly portray my time there, my impressions of the people, my hopes, my convictions, and whatever God continues to teach me in the aftermath.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “At least it’s sunny outside.

  1. dana

    i’ve been thinking about you today. i hope it’s a good day.

  2. I’ve heard people say that coming back to your home culture is more of a shock than entering the new culture for the first time. Although I think I kinda know the feeling you’re describing, I’ve never travelled anywhere radically different, like Haiti, so I probably don’t actually know.

    Take your time in blogging about it. If you’re like me, sometimes you feel like you need to update your blog because you owe it to people or something. But you need time to process things like this. Plus perspective helps to find the meaning in it all, and that only comes with time and thought.

    Hope to hear about yours and James’s trip in person one of these days 🙂 Get well soon!

  3. jule

    I’m so glad I came over the other day. I loved hearing about your trip from BOTH of you first-hand. Really. Amazing.
    And Trin was pumped that she met you guys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

