tell me something happy.

There’s this children’s book that my kids have called Tell Me Something Happy Before I Go To Sleep by Joyce Dunbar and Debi Gliori. It’s one of the sweetest little books I’ve ever read (I may, or may not, tear-up every time we read it). The book is about two little bunnies, Willa and Willoughby. Willa and Willoughby are sister and brother and one night when Willa can’t fall asleep she asks Willoughby to tell her a bunch of things that are happy and special. She eventually falls asleep in her brothers arms with all those happy thoughts skipping through her little bunny brain. It’s the cutest thing. It makes me happy. So today I am going to tell you a bunch of things that make me happy just like Willoughby told Willa.

  • The pockets in one of my favorite pairs of jeans are made from this really cute bird fabric. No one else can see it except me. It’s like my jeans and I have a secret.
  • I finished reading Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller. As soon as I finished the book I put it down on the coffee table and yelled, “YES!” James came running around the corner wondering what the heck was wrong with me. I’m sure something is wrong with me but I yelled because I was just so dang happy after I read that book. It felt like someone finally got it and then somehow wrote a book that felt more like a good conversation about God instead of a 12 step program on how to become a better Christian. I might blog a bit more about this book but let’s just say that I felt so much better about so many things after reading it. Way to go Don.

  • New growth on my Jasmine plant again. Last year (it will be exactly a year tomorrow!) I wrote a post called The Gardener. The post is about my Jasmine plant and God. Well, it came time for another big pruning. I cut so much back that I, again, thought that it might not survive. When I saw the new life poking through the dead parts I was again encouraged in my faith by this silly houseplant. Funny how that works.
  • Making a pot of coffee in the afternoon. ’nuff said.

  • Kisses from my ‘Robot Baby’ niece.
  • Calling my wonderful hairdresser and asking if she has room for me, getting myself and the kids ready and bundled within 15 minutes and running to the bus to make it to a last-minute hair appointment only to find out that my sister  had the next appointment of the day. Our hairdresser thought that we had planned it. Must be a sister thing.

  • Waking up from an afternoon nap to this. Hmmm, I wonder who put that there???
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “tell me something happy.

  1. mom

    Bria–What makes me really, really happy is reading your blog. It lifts me up and I love all the pictures.

  2. What’s really funny is the self-help book comment. Remember IHOP and the speaker with the self-help Bible? Ah the good ol’ days. Makes me laugh every time i hear about self-help anything. Anyway, i’m glad you keep finding things, even little ones, to be happy about.

  3. Ruth

    the pot of coffee in the afternoon is a luxury i just discovered. 🙂 🙂 seriously…i am such a way better wife and mama now that i make that (AND drink that too)

Leave a Reply

