Erskine Christmas Village

It haven’t put this craft into my Everything Nice section because I’m just THAT excited about it. I’ve always like the idea of a christmas village but found the store-bought variety fairly cheesy and impersonal…and who wants to spend money on one from Wal-mart when you can just print one right off of your own computer! Okay, so it’s not as easy as just printing if off, but you can pretend it is when it’s all said and done. This project has no place in my ’15 minute morning project’ section because, truth be told, it took me all day. Yes, I pretty much just fed the kids and did this for an entire day. Although I’m sure you could get away with much less detail than I went into and still have it look very cute, I’m just not that kinda person. It’s kinda sad that I’m this pumped about a little paper village, but then again I’m easily excitable. As soon as I saw the free PDF for the paper house I flipped out and printed the pre-made (already decorated) one-off intending to cut, fold, glue and be done with it. No such luck. I continued reading the post and saw that you could print off a blank house and decorated it to your little hearts desire. Well, me being the over-the-top crafty person that I am (haha) just had to made myself a little bakery. Then I had to make Rhys a candy shop. Then I had to make James a woodworking shop. THEN I had to make Amelia an ice cream shop. AFTER THAT I had to modify the print-out and make a beautiful church, some Christmas trees and some signs. And there you have it folks, an Erskine Christmas Village! The sad part is that I don’t think I’m done. I’m totally hooked on this paper house thing. Call me crazy, but I’m sticking to my firm belief that everything is better miniature. I personally think that they look just beautiful on my windowsill and I love that they are personalize to our family. They look a bit big in the picture but they’re actually very small and I now have a cramp in my neck from drawing so much tiny detail into the little squares…but it was all worth it in the end 🙂

 

 

 

 

You can go here to get the free PDF of the already decorated house and the blank house. Each house comes with a yard, but I choose to only use the yard for the actual home.  The project is very simple if you don’t go overboard like me.

(On a side note, my computer hasn’t been loading my WordPress page for me to post so I’m currently at my mother’s house typing this one. Hopefully it lets me back on soon because it’s driving me crazy. If there is a long pause in my posts than that would be why, just so you know.)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Erskine Christmas Village

  1. Okay, just a little obsessed! No, just kidding! They look fantastic! And I am sure you enjoyed (almost) every minute of it and you have something to show for your hard work. You should be proud of yourself. I can only imagine the kids leading everyone who comes in the front door to their little village with their own personalized store! How fun!

  2. I love it. If I was miniature, I would live in that town.

  3. oh. my. god.

    they’re very cute and ….. detailed.

Leave a Reply

